macressler

Just another WordPress.com site

McKnight On New Position: I Took It As ‘I Wasn’t Good Enough To Play Running Back’

Originally posted on CBS New York:

FLORHAM PARK, N.J. (CBSNewYork/AP) — Joe McKnight walked into the Jets’ offensive meeting room and Rex Ryan broke the news to the backup running back.

“He said I’ve been traded,” McKnight recalled Wednesday. “I was traded to the defense.”

McKnight will start working “a ton” at cornerback to help offset the loss of All-Pro Darrelle Revis, who’s likely out for the season with a knee injury. McKnight, whose role on offense has been limited this season, played the position in high school and practiced at cornerback in Week 2 when Revis was sidelined by a concussion.

Still, finding out about his new role on Monday wasn’t exactly an exciting moment for McKnight.

“I mean, I was drafted as a running back,” the former Southern California star said. “The way I took it was I wasn’t good enough to play running back. I don’t know if that’s the case or…

View original 544 more words

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 26 other followers

